30 Days of Burning Man – Day 11, the Heart of Burning Man

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Burning man
Tags: , , , ,

30 Days of Burning Man – Day 11, the Heart of Burning Man

This year there is a possibility that there will be a much higher percentage of newbies heading to the desert so I thought I’d spend the 30 days before the gates open throwing out some information, some images and a little bit of wisdom, advice and snark about the place I love so much. These posts will be generally directed at Burning Man virgins but hopefully some of you old dogs out there will contribute through comments or get some enjoyment out of them as well. So here we go.  .  I’ll include at least one photo from Burning Man each day and once a week I’ll do nothing but photos.  I hope the posts are sometimes helpful and also enjoyable, enjoy ~ ZD Blue

If you have never been to Burning Man you may not actually be aware of what I consider to be the heart of Black Rock City, the temple.  The temple has a different name each year and it is the second major structure built in the city.  Whereas the man sits at the center of the city the temple sits at 12 O’Clock, so it’s a fair bit further out than most other things in the city.  For that reason, some people never even make it to the Temple and they have missed something significant.  I’ll leave a piece I wrote a year ago to talk more about the significance of the Temple and what it means to me.

The way I describe what happens at Burning Man is this, “the man” burns on Saturday night and to me that has always been like New Year’s Eve.  The Temple burn on Sunday night has always felt to me like a deeply personal spiritual ceremony.  The “man” burns to fireworks and noise and the Temple burns in silence.  A lot of people leave Burning Man before the Temple burn and I believe that missing that burn makes the experience of attending Burning Man, incomplete.

Below is a link to my piece on the Temple of Flux, plenty of pics included, enjoy ~ ZD Blue

https://zdeaconblue.wordpress.com/2010/10/02/269/

 

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

