30 Days of Burning Man – Day 9, Costumes

Posted: August 4, 2012 in Burning man
Tags: , , , ,

30 Days of Burning Man – Day 9, Costumes

This year there is a possibility that there will be a much higher percentage of newbies heading to the desert so I thought I’d spend the 30 days before the gates open throwing out some information, some images and a little bit of wisdom, advice and snark about the place I love so much. These posts will be generally directed at Burning Man virgins but hopefully some of you old dogs out there will contribute through comments or get some enjoyment out of them as well. So here we go.  .  I’ll include at least one photo from Burning Man each day and once a week I’ll do nothing but photos.  I hope the posts are sometimes helpful and also enjoyable, enjoy ~ ZD Blue

So one of the key components of every burner’s trip is their costume collection.  Personally, I have costumes related to pirate themes, clerical themes, a range of color themes, some Thunderdome/Mad Maxx looking outfits including some really killer 4 inch platform boots.

Ok first, do you have to costume at Burning Man?  Of course not but you’ll find that most people do to some degree.  Personally I spend a lot of time in a sport kilt, more than any formal costume and have a tendency to costume at night.

Is it better to have store-bought costumes or home-made costumes?  Given that one of the principles is radical self-reliance and that you’re in a community full of art type people, homemade will always be better unless there is a good damn reason not to do it yourself.

How do I costume if I’m not buying them?  Ok, if you’re actually thinking this I’m a little worried about you.  So some tips, cruise thrift shops, you will be amazed what you can find in thrift stores, outfits, props (think about MOOP), and an assortment of idea generating items.  Gender bending is always a thought, remember you’ll be on the playa, everything goes, you’re not going to be judged and as I often say on the playa, “take a look, a full 360 degrees at any moment and I promise no matter what you are doing, you’re not the biggest freak.”  However, if you do that and you are, come see me, we need to meet.

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. tzip says:

    This is a very nice Idea, to help all the virgins get a slight idea about what goes on in the city.

Leave a Reply

