July Poetry, Day 29 – And the President didn’t call

Posted: July 29, 2012 in photography, poetry
Tags: , , , ,

Tonight my most recent piece, I hope you like it ~ ZD Blue

 

photo by ZD Blue

And the President didn’t call                                                                                                       7/23/12

 ZD Blue

When I was a young girl
my daddy was away
momma said he was fighting for freedom
a man in a uniform knocked on the door
and momma cried all day
before she told me,
that daddy had died
and the president didn’t call
 

I was waiting for her at school
when the policeman came
put me in the squad car
and took me home
daddy was crying
my mother would never
pick me up again
and the president didn’t call
 

My six year old daughter
never did anything wrong
never hurt anyone
she just had the bad luck
of living in the wrong part
of the wrong town
when the gangs opened fire
collateral damage the paper said
and the president didn’t call
 

I never left her side
except to do what I had to
sleep, pay the bills, call the doctor
we couldn’t afford hospice
but no one, not anyone
should have to suffer like this
or die alone
so I never left her side
that’s how I know
the president didn’t call
 

I guess it was because
her death didn’t make the news
maybe because she wasn’t famous
or because she died alone
maybe,
although I hate to even think it
maybe,
it was because it wasn’t an election year

Comments

Leave a Reply

