July Poetry, Day 7 – Z Deacon Blue

Posted: July 7, 2012 in photography, poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

July Poetry, Day 7 – Z Deacon Blue

Today a little shameless self-promotion and a dip into the emotional sensitive side of my writing with a nod to Greg Brown.  Two tastes, love and pain, first, a quote I saw on Twitter yesterday that I think is unbelievably beautiful and a line I wish I had written myself, enjoy! ~ ZDB

I  dropped a tear in the ocean. The day you find it is the day I will stop missing you ~ Unknown

photo by Z Deacon Blue

Someday when we’re both alone                                                                                            4/16/12

 
You love me
you love me enough
to want me
to have more
than I want
for myself

You love me
you love me even though
you love another
even more
or differently
than you love me

You love me
as a friend
a former lover
an imaginary creature
your greatest fear
your delusional key
to a freedom
you only dream of

You love me
you love me from  afar
because you must
because that is safe
because that is
what must be
what makes the most sense
because
that is where the road took us

You love me
you love me even if
you can’t say it
can’t admit it
you love me in the spaces
in the niches
in the times
between the times
when life ends
and dreams begin

You love me
you love me in spite
of having been inside
having found the monster
the incongruous combination
of child and demon
innocence and power
beauty and horror

You love me
you love me, the complexity
the madness
that is me
that is us
that is what we label life
because we know
nothing else

You love me
or you will
someday
when we’re both alone

 

photo by Z Deacon Blue

Home at last                                                                                                                                       6/18/12

How much lonelier the world
when there is no one to hold you

how much colder
                the winter wind blows

how much darker
                the depth of the night

how much more painful
                the pitfalls of life

How little hope in the world
when there is no one to hug you

how little peace               
                when the storm comes

how little gratification
                when you taste of success

how little color
                when you look upon the world

What is truly left in the world
when there is no one to love you

Who is there to find
when you are truly alone

Where does one go in the world
when looking for home at last

Comments

Leave a Reply

