The Goddess Tilda Swinton

Posted: January 28, 2012 in Celebrities
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The Goddess Tilda Swinton

Ok, today I want to talk about one of the most amazing women in the film industry, Tilda Swinton.  What makes her so special?  To me there are several things, her acting ability, her spectacular beauty and the fact that she is highly intelligent and utterly unconventional.  The former fashion model is universally considered a spectacular actress who has won an Oscar (Michael Clayton) and been nominated for a Golden Globe award and has won numerous film festival awards.

Add to this fact that she is unbelievably beautiful, (although I do know one young lately who vehemently disagrees with me), she is often called androgynous, but much like Annie Lennox in her orange crew cut hair days, once you apply the bald test, you’ll realize how spectacular she is, and here are a couple of images so you can judge for yourself:

 

 

On top of all of this Tilda is one of those women who never had to do a damn thing.  She was born to old school Scottish family and can trace her lineage back some obnoxious number of generations.  She attended school with Princess Diana, she’s tall and beautiful and could have easily lived a life of relative leisure, married some insanely rich man and coasted. 

But far from that, she has carved a very unique path through life.  As a model and actress of some renown she of course lives in London, LA or New York, no she does not.  She lives in a little town east of Inverness, yes the home of Loch Ness, in Scotland.  There have been more than interesting tabloid discussions of the relationships she has with her partner and the father of her children.  She isn’t constantly in the press, she doesn’t prance around in attempts to get coverage and into the headlines and she doesn’t take on big commercial roles just to make money.  If you’ve ever watched her do an interview you will see immediately what I mean by her individuality.  For those of you who haven’t seen her do an interview the link below is to the one she did with Jon Stewart on the Daily Show this week.

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/thu-january-26-2012/tilda-swinton

Tilda Swinton is one of the few big stars in the film industry who I would love to sit down with and have a beer, I would expect nothing less than a revealing and fantastic conversation, and as soon she extends me the invite I’ll be on my way.  Finally, to illustrate her unique perspective here are few quotes from her from IMDB:

The other day, I was going through the airport security and I was searched by a male security guard. I’m very often referred to as “Sir” in elevators and such. I think it has to do with being this tall and not wearing much lipstick. I think people just can’t imagine I’d be a woman if I look like this.

True, there is all sorts of religious extremism all over the place, but the reason for this partly has to do with the fascist attitudes and language of absolutism coming from Washington. It’s challenging for people outside of America that Bush was re-elected. It means we’re all going to have to work a lot harder to understand what so many more Americans than we thought really want. It’s an identity shift in our minds about America and maybe for many Americans as well.

I’m not one of those performers who says the theatre is my great love. It really isn’t. I’m not really interested in the theatre at all to be honest. I don’t go to it. I find it really boring.

I don’t think I’m courageous. One man’s courage is another man’s comfort zone. We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011) explored a taboo subject: the idea of a less than perfect mother. I knew that, when an audience watched the film, there would be a gag reflex at some point. But I was fascinated by the subject – it scared me, and that interested me.

Comments
  1. […] a little tribute to one of the most interesting women in Hollywood, my second piece, I wrote about Tilda Swinton in my first piece and like Tilda, Ashley is someone I would love to sit down with and have a drink […]

  2. Joshua Smith says:

    I do vehemently disagree also.
    Though bone structure is an important part of beauty
    it is not all of beauty: and when there is only severe
    Vanessa Redgrave type bone structure- I think a face
    – in this case- Ms Swintons. lacking true delicacy or Depth
    (a great mysterious necessity for great beauty)- can be
    rather frightening. Watch her work now and in future: acting
    is in the eyes “can she really change the expression in those
    bright metallic eyes. Spooky. There was a reason why she was cast as an ice queen
    Rarely critical of a person’s looks- but beauty and truth do not
    reside with this woman—omho

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any of Ms. Swinton’s films, but am very intrigued by what I’ve read about her. (If she’s half as good as you make her out to be…)
    Meanwhile, We Need to Talk About Kevin isn’t playing anywhere near me! 😦

    -Dani

Leave a Reply

