Why do we make children recite the Pledge of Allegiance?

Posted: September 20, 2011 in education, political correctness, political stupidity
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

There have been a number of court battles and controversy around the Pledge of Allegiance:

http://blogs.edweek.org/edweek/school_law/2011/06/justices_decline_to_hear_pledg.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pledge_of_Allegiance

The issue that is typically under discussion revolves around the use of the phrase “under god.”  A number of atheists have challenged this unsuccessfully using the argument that the phrase violates the separation of church and state.  A phrase, consequently that was added in 1948, the pledge was originated in 1892.

 However my question is why do we make children recite the Pledge of Allegiance?  I always thought it was ridiculous when I was a kid and I asked my teacher once if I had to do it, she said yes.  So, not wanting to get in trouble I continued to do it throughout elementary school, every morning like clockwork with the morning announcements.  At some point in my school career that little tradition disappeared but quite frankly I can’t remember when.  Today, it’s made fairly clear to students that it is an option and that makes me happy and I think really there is nothing wrong with optional participation.

My thought has always been this, if I told you that there was a country, that every morning made all of the children in the nation swear a compulsory oath of loyalty to the government, most of us would go off the wall assuming of course that we’re talking about North Korea or Iran.  Like a lot of the things we do in our educational system, the pledge is outdated.  In my opinion it was all part of the idea that the educational system should provide a passive, orderly and loyal workforce for the factories.  The world has changed.

Today my hope is that we understand that being a patriot is more about what a person does in their life by choice, not by indoctrination.  A person, particularly a child, is not disloyal or unpatriotic if they critically analyze their nation and its actions and you don’t need to publicly recite a loyalty pledge to love your country or be a patriot.

Comments
  1. […] got statements like In God We Trust put on our money, and One nation under God put into the Pledge of Allegiance.  We are constantly told by the Right, that this is a Christian nation the way our founding […]

Leave a Reply

