What is the next Burning Man?

Posted: July 27, 2011 in Burning man
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Now, I’ll be the first to say Burning Man is utterly unique and so the question is really, what is the next Burning Man-like thing?  I’m not quite one of those old burners who thinks it was all great in the old days and so screw the playa.  However, I really think I’m closing in on my limit on the playa.  I’ve volunteered on big art projects, albeit in small ways, I’ve spent my time at Center Camp and worked at Ice Camp.  I don’t spin fire but I’ve worked fire safety and hung out with spinners, I’ve been a Temple Guardian and had press credentials.  I’ve watched Black Rock City through virgin eyes, mine and others, I’ve fought in Thunderdome, etc….

So although I don’t think it would ever be possible to have experienced everything BRC had to offer, even in a given year, I think it may be time for me to move on and I am considering making this my last burn.  Not with the hard feelings of a break-up, just acknowledging that it may be time for me and my annual pilgrimage to part ways.  The question is however what do I fit in its place?

Rainbow gatherings were kind of my first exposure to the idea of something off the beaten path and not quite normal.  Not being normal is big with me.  There of course will always be adventure, I went to Everest Base Camp last year and I’m far from done doing the travel type things I hope to do.  But what’s out there like Burning Man, a destination with a temporary community that comes together for a short-time to celebrate and then go their merry ways.  There are the standards like Mardi Gras, Fantasy Fest, Coachella and Glastonberry.  But I’m not looking for a standard music festival or even just a big party, I’m looking for something special. 

I did a bit of a Google search and really didn’t come up with anything that excited me, so I thought, hey maybe, like me, in the middle of their playa preparations the burner community might take a break and help me out.  The burner community is probably the worlds largest group of experts on the type of thing I’m looking for, so I decided to ask you and all of my other readers to help me out.

So, give me some ideas folks, what else is out there that I might experience next year?  And I thank you in advance for your thoughts and suggestions.

Comments
  1. Mj says:

    I’ve been going to the Oregon Country Fair in Veneta, Oregon, since I was 12. It’s a really special place and weekend, although, like everywhere, the times they are a changing. Yet, the band plays on, and all that. You might enjoy it.

    • zdeaconblue says:

      Thanks for the comment Mathew, I’m very aware of the Oregon Country fair and everyone I know who has attended has loved it, however I don’t think it is the type of event I’m focusing on, but a great event I would recommend to everyone.

Leave a Reply

