June Poetry: Day 2 – Peter McWilliams

Posted: June 2, 2011 in poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Day 2 – Peter McWilliams

 Like most of the poets I like, Peter McWilliams was a very interesting guy.  I was introduced to his work by a women I was madly in love with, a woman who would become my muse, a woman who drove me quite literally to some form of insanity.  McWilliams understood this type of love and it is the reason I included the Sagan quote, it catches the essence of that type of love as does the first piece I include by McWilliams.

One thing I very much love about McWilliams is his ability, in very few words to strike emotional depths.  In quickly searching tonight I couldn’t find one of my favorite pieces, in two lines it is a sledge-hammer, but I think the pieces below are a good representation.  Enjoy the pieces.

I have loved to the point of madness; that which is called madness, that which to me, is the only sensible way to love.

 ~ Francoise Sagan

I cannot love half assed.
I must love well and intently and creatively
or the forces within me turn back upon themselves
and explode….boom.
Do you want love
or do you want someone to drive the
loneliness from your life?
Do you want me
or would anyone do?
Do you want love in return
or just to respond?
I was not put on this earth
to test your reflexes.

 

***************************

 

Love,
no matter what
you feel it for,
is still love.
The object does not
change the emotion.
But the emotion
quite often
changes the object.

**********************

Someday we are going to be lovers.
Maybe married.
At the very least, an affair.
What’s your name?

 

************************

I don’t want
to build my
life around you,
but I do want to
include you
in the building
of my life.

************************

I don’t know
how to lose.
That’s part of the problem.
I don’t know
how to win, either.
That’s the other part.

***********************************

I don’t know if love conquers all.
I do know it conquers me with alarming regularity.

 

*************************************

Saying goodnight you leave,
sentencing me to a bad one.

 

***********************************

 

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

