Himalayan Travelogue Part 8 – the Everest Marathon, skirts and up and down days

Posted: January 29, 2011 in Himalayan Travelogue
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Nature teaches more than she preaches.  There are no sermons in stones.  It is easier to get a spark out of a stone than a moral.  ~John Burroughs

We had a couple of people in the group who haven’t been feeling well, a number of people in the group had a chest infection.  We hiked up to the Periche Aid station today to get people checked out, happily everyone turned out to be ok.  In Periche I saw my favorite sign in the Himalayas, here it is:

I love this sign

In all fairness English is a tough language and you see a lot of funny signs overseas when people translate, I was just happy to be someplace where they try.  After leaving the clinic we popped over a little 600 foot hill and dropped down into Dingboche(14,105 ft) for the night.  Before going over the hill, we were getting our gear together and we hear a bell ringing and we look up to see someone actually running down the hill we are about to climb, and then another, and another.  We were actually witnessing part of the Everest Marathon, yes folks for some runners a marathon at sea level isn’t enough they have to go run one in the Himalayas, you can read more about it at the following link:

http://www.everestmarathon.org.uk/

We started out the next morning walking up the Chhukhung Valley heading to Chhukhung at 15,580 ft.  The valley is a wide gently sloping valley with a small river running through it with amazing peaks rising up on either side of the valley, truly spectacular and even the skies that day were amazing.

Rainbows in the Clouds

At one point on the way up the valley I saw a woman hiking in a skirt, I really thought I was mistaken until we met again later that day at our lodge and I confirmed she was hiking in a skirt.  She also turned out to be an amazingly beautiful and cool woman and we would run into her and her boyfriend a number of times on the trail, this is them below:

It also turned out to be by far my worst day on the trail, I had no energy, absolutely none and I was walking like an 80 year old man.  It was amazing, no matter how hard I tried I could not force my feet to move any faster.  It was a day to learn how great my hiking companions and my guides were, people took turns hiking back with me and Lhakpa and Kim were absolutely amazing, here’s a picture of those two below.

Our Guides, Lhakpa and Kim

That day as the sun set we were treated to one of the most amazing sunsets I’d ever seen.

Comments

Leave a Reply

