Himalayan Travelogue – Part 3, Welcome to Utah

Posted: January 11, 2011 in Himalayan Travelogue
Tags: , , , , ,

Truly it may be said that the outside of a mountain is good for the inside of a man.  ~George Wherry, Alpine Notes and the Climbing Foot, 1896

I was fortunate enough during my time off to have access to my aunt’s cabin in Utah.  The beauty of that place is almost impossible to put into words, the sage brush, the clear air and the amazing sunsets with a flock of turkeys as my constant company.  There is a peace that pervades you out there that is hard to find anywhere else, I was blessed to have that for three months.  My schedule for the time there was perfect, get up, eat breakfast and drive over to Bryce Canyon National Park, spend four or five hours hiking and come home.  Eat, take a nice little nap, do some reading or work around the cabin, shoot the sunset, eat and the do some writing before bed.  Life the way it should be moving exactly at the correct pace.  I could spend time in this space today writing about all of the magnificent hiking trails and experiences I had there, but that isn’t the point of this piece, we’re on our way to the Himalayas and it’s time to get there.  So instead, from my three months in Utah, today I’ll give you nothing but images to tell the tale, enjoy.

My Aunt's Cabin

 

Navajo Queen Trail

 

My companions, "the girls"

 

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

