So for those who know me well, they know that I love film almost as much as I hate people and crowds, for that reason it has been a long time since I’ve gone to a film on opening day.  I have a history of responding negatively to people talking in theaters and ruining my movie experience.  The whole thing is really infuriating for me because in addition to music, a great conversation or a morning on the playa, there is nothing like a film to take you on a trip outside of your life for a little while.

Today however I ventured out to see INCEPTION, upon walking into the theater I had a bad reaction as the room was nearly full.  I was lucky enough to find an end seat that was not too far or too close to the screen and I sat down to watch the last couple of previews.  I always come into films late so that I can find a seat away from folks and with no one sitting in front of me.

I have to say that I was rewarded far and above my expectations for this film and of the audience.  For nearly two and a half hours, myself and the rest of the theater were totally engrossed in the film.  I didn’t hear a peep out of anyone and INCEPTION delivered for every one of its 142 minutes.  Christopher Nolan’s script was fantastic, the direction excellence, the effects nearly as innovative as in the Matrix, Leonardo DiCaprio very good, and Ellen Page not the least bit annoying and Michael Caine his normal great self.  The story was engrossing and at times literally had you on the edge of your seat, this film was successful as science fiction, as an action thriller and as a drama, truly a magnificent film.

I’m sure once I see it again I’ll find some little flaws, but for a first viewing I can quite honestly say this was a perfect film, easily one of the best and most balanced to come out in quite some time.  Go see INCEPTION!

Leave a Reply

