Floyd Landis is pissing me off!

Posted: May 20, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’m a cycling fan and I watched what at the time I believed to be one of, if not the, single greatest day in the history of American professional cycling.  Watching Floyd Landis pound out a massive ride that brought him from well behind to victory in the Tour de France was amazing.  It was a Rocky moment, you’re pulling for this guy that nobody thought could win, the ride embodied everything good and wonderful about the underdog, never give up nature of our country.  I cheered at home in my living room and jumped up and danced around when it was over, I was so proud of what that man did.

But he cheated.

When the first positive test result came out I held onto hope, surely Floyd didn’t cheat.  The second test confirmed it and then Floyd started acting like a guilty man in denial and I knew it was gone, I felt cheated.  He’d given me and millions of sports fans what I thought was an amazing gift, one of those rare moments in cycling like the look, or when Greg LeMond and Laurent Fignon battled within seconds of each other on the last day of the tour.  But it was a sham and instead here was another doped cyclist bringing shame on the sport and shame on our nation.

So now Floyd has come out to say hey I cheated, it was all a lie, I was a doper throughout my career, oh and by the way the most famous cyclist in American history is a doper too!  Armstrong has been tested incessantly and has never tested positive, until he does test positive, he is innocent until proven guilty that’s how we roll in the United States.  So I ask you Floyd is this how you clear your conscience?  Is this how you think you make us respect you, by accusing others of cheating as well?  First Floyd, you have NO credibility left and if you were an honorable man you would stand up admit your wrongs and not use the oldest public relations trick in the book, deflection.  So instead of coming clean and taking your lumps with the public you try to deflect the attention onto someone else.  In short Floyd, you’re a punk and when I saw you doing your warm up laps last year before the Tour of California’s prologue, I wish instead of snapping your picture I’d spit on you, you jealous, petty, little cheating man!

Leave a Reply

